Center Affiliates

In addition to the center leadership, CHABLIS comprises over 50 center affiliates with research expertise in the demography and economics of aging. Affiliates includes faculty members or research staff at the University of Chicago an/or NORC. We also include a number of external affiliates who work closely with our center on one or more of the priority cohort studies

University of Chicago and NORC Affiliates

Luc Anselin, PhD
Department of Sociology
anselin@uchicago.edu 

Vineet Arora, MD, MA
Department of Medicine, Section of General Internal Medicine
varora@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Marshall Chin, MD, MPH
Department of Medicine, Section of General Internal Medicine
mchin@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Mike Davern, PhD
NORC at the University of Chicago
davern-michael@norc.org

Manasi Deshpande, PhD
Department of Economics
mdeshpande@uchicago.edu

Steven Durlauf, PhD
Harris School of Public Policy
sdurlauf@uchicago.edu

Peter Ganong, PhD
Harris School of Public Policy
ganong@uchicago.edu

Angela Garcia, PhD
School of Social Service Administration
agarcia@uchicago.edu

Leonid Gavrilov, PhD,
NORC at the University of Chicago
gavrilov-leonid@norc.uchicago.edu

Natalia Gavrilova, PhD
NORC at the University of Chicago
gavrilova@health-studies.org

Robert Gibbons, PhD
Department of Medicine, Section of Hospital Medicine, and Department of Public Health Sciences
rdg@uchicago.edu

Michael Greenstone, PhD
Department of Economics
mgreenst@uchicago.edu

Colleen Grogran, PhD
School fo Social Service Administration
cgrogan@uchicago.edu

Louise Hawkley, PhD
NORC at the University of Chicago
hawkley-louise@norc.org

Eric Hedberg, PhD
NORC at the University of Chicago
hedberg-eric@norc.org

Don Hedeker, PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
dhedeker@health.bsd.uchicago.edu

Elbert Huang, MD, MPH
Department of Medicine, Section of General Internal Medicine
ehuang@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Megan Huisingh-Scheez, MD
Department of Medicine, Geriatric and Palliative Medicine
megan.huisingh-scheetz@uchospitals.edu

Damon Jones, PhD
Harris School of Public Policy
damonjones@uchicago.edu

Robert Kaestner, PhD
Harris School of Public Policy
kaestner@uchicago.edu

Greg Kaplan, PhD
Department of Economics
gkaplan@uchicago.edu

Dmitri Koustas, PhD
Harris School of Public Policy
dkoustas@uchicago.edu

Diane Lauderdale, PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
lauderdale@health.bsd.uchicago.edu

Ed Laumann, PhD
Department of Sociology
e-laumann@uchicago.edu

Stacy Lindau, MD, MA
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
slindau@bsd.uchicago.edu

Martha McClintock, PhD
Departments of Psychology and Comparative Human Development
mkm1@uchicago.edu

Bruce Meyer, PhD
Harris School of Public Policy
bdmeyer@uchicago.edu

Robert Michael, PhD
Harris School of Public Policy
rmichael@uchicago.edu

Casey Mulligan, PhD
Professor in Economics
c-mulligan@uchicago.edu

Peter O’Donnell, MD
Department of Medicine, Hematology/Oncology
podennel@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Jay Pinto, MD
Department of Surgery
jpinto@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu

Micah Prochaska, MD, MS
Department of Medicine, Section of Hospital Medicine
mprochas@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Milda Saunders, MD, MPH
Department of Medicine, Section of General Internal Medicine
msaunder@bsd.uchicago.edu

John Schneider, MD, MPH
Department of Medicine, Section of Infectious Diseases
jschnei1@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Andrew Schram, MD
Department of Medicine, Section of Hospital Medicine
aschram@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Philip Schumm, MA
Department of Health Studies
pschumm@uchicago.edu

Stephen Smith, MA
NORC at the University of Chicago
smith-stephen@norc.org

Pietro Tebaldi, PhD
Department of Economics
ptebaldi@uchicago.edu

Elizabeth Tung, MS, MD
Department of Medicine, Section of General Internal Medicine
etung2@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

 

External Affiliates

William Dale, MD, PhD
Supportive Care Medicine
City of Hope

Hui (Cathy) Liu, PhD
Department of Sociology
Michigan State University
liuhu@msu.edu

Christopher Masi, MD, PhD
Department of Medicine
Emory University 
christopher.masi@emory.edu

Thomas McDade, PhD
Department of Anthropology 
Northwestern University
t-mcdade@northwestern.edu

Ellis Monk, PhD
Department of Sociology
Harvard University
emonk@fas.harvard.edu

Naoko Muramatsu, PhD
School of Public Health 
University of Illinois at Chicago
naoko@uic.edu

Jay Olshansky, PhD
School of Public Health
University of Illinois at Chicago
sjayo@uic.edu

Center for Health and the Social Sciences 
5841 S. Maryland Avenue, Mail Code 1005
Chicago, IL 60637
773-702-8600