Center Associates

In addition to the center leadership, CHABLIS comprises over 50 center associates with research expertise in the demography and economics of aging. Affiliates includes faculty members or research staff at the University of Chicago and/or the National Opinion Research Center (NORC). We also include a number of external affiliates who work closely with our center on one or more of the priority cohort studies.

University of Chicago and NORC Associates

Luc Anselin, PhD
Department of Sociology
anselin@uchicago.edu 

Vineet Arora, MD, MA
Department of Medicine, Section of General Internal Medicine
varora@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Ashley Brown, MD
Department of Hospital Medicine
aebrown@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Jennifer Caputo PhD
Department of Sociology
caputoj@uchicago.edu

Ishanu Chattopadhyay, MD
Department of Medicine, Section of Hospital Medicine
ishanu@uchicago.edu

Marshall Chin, MD, MPH
Department of Medicine, Section of General Internal Medicine
mchin@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Mike Davern, PhD
NORC at the University of Chicago
davern-michael@norc.org

Manasi Deshpande, PhD
Department of Economics
mdeshpande@uchicago.edu

Steven Durlauf, PhD
Harris School of Public Policy
sdurlauf@uchicago.edu

Peter Ganong, PhD
Harris School of Public Policy
ganong@uchicago.edu

Angela Garcia, PhD
School of Social Service Administration
agarcia@uchicago.edu

Leonid Gavrilov, PhD,
NORC at the University of Chicago
gavrilov-leonid@norc.uchicago.edu

Natalia Gavrilova, PhD
NORC at the University of Chicago
gavrilova@health-studies.org

Robert Gibbons, PhD
Department of Medicine, Section of Hospital Medicine, and Department of Public Health Sciences
rdg@uchicago.edu

Michael Greenstone, PhD
Department of Economics
mgreenst@uchicago.edu

Colleen Grogran, PhD
School of Social Service Administration
cgrogan@uchicago.edu

Erin Hanlon, PhD
Department of Medicine, Section of Endocrinology and Metabolism
ehanlon@bsd.uchicago.edu

Louise Hawkley, PhD
NORC at the University of Chicago
hawkley-louise@norc.org

Eric Hedberg, PhD
NORC at the University of Chicago
hedberg-eric@norc.org

Don Hedeker, PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
dhedeker@health.bsd.uchicago.edu

Elbert Huang, MD, MPH
Department of Medicine, Section of General Internal Medicine
ehuang@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Megan Huisingh-Scheez, MD
Department of Medicine, Geriatric and Palliative Medicine
megan.huisingh-scheetz@uchospitals.edu

Damon Jones, PhD
Harris School of Public Policy
damonjones@uchicago.edu

Robert Kaestner, PhD
Harris School of Public Policy
kaestner@uchicago.edu

Greg Kaplan, PhD
Department of Economics
gkaplan@uchicago.edu

Sanjana Kareti, MD
Department of Medicine, Section of Hospital Medicine, Hospital Medicine
Sanjana.Kareti@uchospitals.edu

Tia Kostas, MD
Department of Medicine, Section of Geriatrics and Palliative Care
tkostas@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Dmitri Koustas, PhD
Harris School of Public Policy
dkoustas@uchicago.edu

Diane Lauderdale, PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
lauderdale@health.bsd.uchicago.edu

Ed Laumann, PhD
Department of Sociology
e-laumann@uchicago.edu

Stacie Levine, MD
Department of Medicine, Section of Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine
slevine@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Stacy Lindau, MD, MA
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
slindau@bsd.uchicago.edu

Laura Magda, MD
Postdoctoral Researcher
lmagda2@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Maylyn Martinez, MD
Department of Medicine, Postdoctoral Fellow and Hospitalist Scholar
maylynm@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Martha McClintock, PhD
Departments of Psychology and Comparative Human Development
mkm1@uchicago.edu

Bruce Meyer, PhD
Harris School of Public Policy
bdmeyer@uchicago.edu

Robert Michael, PhD
Harris School of Public Policy
rmichael@uchicago.edu

Casey Mulligan, PhD
Department of Economics
c-mulligan@uchicago.edu

Peter O’Donnell, MD
Department of Medicine, Hematology/Oncology
podennel@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Jay Pinto, MD
Department of Surgery
jpinto@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu

Shyam Prabhakaran, MD, MS
Department of Neurology
shyam1@neurology.bsd.uchicago.edu

Micah Prochaska, MD, MS
Department of Medicine, Section of Hospital Medicine
mprochas@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Milda Saunders, MD, MPH
Department of Medicine, Section of General Internal Medicine
msaunder@bsd.uchicago.edu

Loren Saulsberry, PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
lsaulsberry@health.bsd.uchicago.edu

John Schneider, MD, MPH
Department of Medicine, Section of Infectious Diseases
jschnei1@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Andrew Schram, MD
Department of Medicine, Section of Hospital Medicine
aschram@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Philip Schumm, MA
Department of Health Studies
pschumm@uchicago.edu

Stephen Smith, MA
NORC at the University of Chicago
smith-stephen@norc.org

Marcia Tan, PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
mmtan@health.bsd.uchicago.edu

Alex Tate, PhD
Department of Medicine, Section of Hospital Medicine
atate@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Pietro Tebaldi, PhD
Department of Economics
ptebaldi@uchicago.edu

Katherine Thompson, MD
Department of Medicine, Section of Geriatrics
katherine.thompson@uchospitals.edu

Elizabeth Tung, MS, MD
Department of Medicine, Section of General Internal Medicine
etung2@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Shellie Williams, MD
Department of Medicine, Section of Geriatrics and Palliative Care
swillia2@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

External Associates

Francis G. Balucan, MD
Clinical Medicine
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
francis.g.balucan@vumc.org

William Dale, MD, PhD
Supportive Care Medicine
City of Hope

Fanghong Dong, PhD, MSN, MA
Postdoctoral Fellow
University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
dofa@nursing.upenn.edu

Hui (Cathy) Liu, PhD
Department of Sociology
Michigan State University
liuhu@msu.edu

Alyssa Goldman, PhD
Department of Sociology
Boston College
alyssa.goldman@bc.edu

Christopher Masi, MD, PhD
Department of Medicine
Emory University
christopher.masi@emory.edu

Thomas McDade, PhD
Department of Anthropology
Northwestern University
t-mcdade@northwestern.edu

Ellis Monk, PhD
Department of Sociology
Harvard University
emonk@fas.harvard.edu

Naoko Muramatsu, PhD
School of Public Health
University of Illinois at Chicago
naoko@uic.edu

Jay Olshansky, PhD
School of Public Health
University of Illinois at Chicago
sjayo@uic.edu

Elvin Price, PharmD, PhD
School of Pharmacy
Virginia Commonwealth University
etprice@vcu.edu

Center for Health and the Social Sciences 
5841 S. Maryland Avenue, Mail Code 1005
Chicago, IL 60637
773-702-8600