Undergraduate Fellows

Cultivating Health and Aging Researchers by Integrating Science, Medicine & Aging (CHARISMA) | Collegiate Translational Medicine Program (CTMP)

CHeSS is proud to support over 20 undergraduate fellows who are affiliated with the Center’s various training programs. Learn more about each of our undergraduate fellows below.

 

Cultivating Health and Aging Researchers by Integrating Science, Medicine & Aging (CHARISMA)

Visit program webpage here

Alraian Abdelrahim, 1st Year Fellow

Alraian Abdelrahim, 1st Year Fellow

Third Year, Illinois Institute of Technology

alraiana@gmail.com
Major(s): Biomedical Engineering
Hometown: Skokie, Illinois
Program Mentor: Maylyn Martinez, MD

Yaa Asante, Affiliate

Yaa Asante, Affiliate

Fourth Year, University of Chicago

yasante@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Psychology
Minor(s): Biology
Hometown: Silver Spring, Maryland
Program Mentor: Alexandra Tate, PhD

Niser Babiker, 1st Year Fellow

Niser Babiker, 1st Year Fellow

Third Year, University of Chicago

nbabiker@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Neuroscience
Minor(s): Molecular Engineering
Hometown: Phoenix, Arizona
Program Mentor: Megan Huisingh-Scheetz, MD

Mahnoor Baig, Affiliate

Mahnoor Baig, Affiliate

Fourth Year, University of Illinois at Chicago

mjbaig2@uic.edu
Major(s): Biological Sciences
Hometown: Chicago, IL
Program Mentor: Maylyn Martinez, MD

Ameerah Brown, 1st Year Fellow

Ameerah Brown, 1st Year Fellow

Third Year, North Park University

asbrown@northpark.edu
Major(s): Exercise Science
Hometown: Orland Hills, IL
Program Mentor: Megan Huisingh-Scheetz, MD

Mariam Butler, 1st Year Fellow

Mariam Butler, 1st Year Fellow

Third Year, University of Illinois at Chicago

mbutle29@uic.edu
Major(s): Public Health
Minor(s): International Studies
Hometown: Algonquin, Illinois
Program Mentor: Tamar Polonsky, MD

Asia Carey, 1st Year Fellow

Asia Carey, 1st Year Fellow

Second Year, University of Chicago

adcarey@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Biology & Psychology
Hometown: St. Louis, Missouri
Program Mentor: Micah Prochaska, MD

Jainjayne Daniels, 1st Year Fellow

Jainjayne Daniels, 1st Year Fellow

Third Year, University of Chicago

jdaniels24@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Biological Sciences
Minor(s): Health and Society
Hometown: Rockhill, South Carolina
Program Mentor: Tamar Polonsky, MD

Janae Douglas, 1st Year Fellow

Janae Douglas, 1st Year Fellow

Second Year, Dominican University

douglasjanae74@gmail.com
Major(s): Psychology
Hometown: Chicago, Illinois
Program Mentor: Andrew Schram, MD

Alan Gonzalez, 2nd Year Fellow

Alan Gonzalez, 2nd Year Fellow

Third Year, University of Chicago

alanglz@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Neuroscience
Hometown: Fort Worth, Texas
Program Mentor: Megan Huisingh-Scheetz, MD

Morayo Fernandez, 1st Year Fellow

Morayo Fernandez, 1st Year Fellow

Third Year, University of Chicago

mfernandez23@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Psychology
Minor(s): Chemistry
Hometown: Carlisle, MA
Program Mentor: Micah Prochaska, MD

Daniel Ibarra, 2nd Year Fellow

Daniel Ibarra, 2nd Year Fellow

Fourth Year, University of Illinois at Chicago

dibarr4@uic.edu
Major(s): Applied Psychology
Minor(s): Spanish for the Professions: Medicine & Bio. Sciences
Hometown: Chicago, Illinois
Program Mentor: Maylyn Martinez, MD

Stephanie Kacius, 2nd Year Fellow

Stephanie Kacius, 2nd Year Fellow

Third Year, Loyola University Chicago

skacius@luc.edu
Major(s): Neuroscience (Molecular & Cellular)
Hometown: Northfield, Illinois
Program Mentor: Jayant Pinto, MD

Jillian Llamas, 1st Year Fellow

Jillian Llamas, 1st Year Fellow

Fourth Year, University of Chicago

jillamas@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Biological Sciences
Hometown: Meridian, Idaho
Program Mentor: Micah Prochaska, MD

Seneca Magallanes, 1st Year Fellow

Seneca Magallanes, 1st Year Fellow

Second Year, University of Chicago

scmagallanes@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Biology
Hometown: Brownsville, Texas
Program Mentor: Shyam Prabhakaran, MD, MS

Natasha Martinez Alvardo, 2nd Year Fellow

Natasha Martinez Alvardo, 2nd Year Fellow

Fourth Year, University of Chicago

natasha1fma@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Neuroscience, Psychology
Hometown: San Francisco, California
Program Mentor: Jayant Pinto, MD

Tabitha Mungai, 1st Year Fellow

Tabitha Mungai, 1st Year Fellow

Third Year, University of Chicago

tmungai@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Neuroscience (pre-med)
Minor(s): Spanish
Hometown: Fridley, Minnesota
Program Mentor: Tamar Polonsky, MD

Avery Rosado, 1st Year Fellow

Avery Rosado, 1st Year Fellow

Third Year, University of Chicago

airosado@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Biological Sciences, Public Policy Studies
Hometown: West Sayville, New York
Program Mentor: Shyam Prabhakaran, MD, MS

Giovanni Rodriguez, 1st Year Fellow

Giovanni Rodriguez, 1st Year Fellow

Fourth Year, Loyola University

grodriguez11@luc.edu
Major(s): Biology
Minor(s): Bioethics
Hometown: Addison, Illinois
Program Mentor: Andrew Schram, MD

Jovany Soto, 2nd Year Fellow

Jovany Soto, 2nd Year Fellow

Fourth Year, Illinois Institute of Technology

jsoto14@hawk.iit.edu
Major(s): Biomedical Engineering
Hometown: Orland Park, Illinois
Program Mentor: Megan Huisingh-Scheetz, MD

Jonathan Tran, 1st Year Fellow

Jonathan Tran, 1st Year Fellow

Third Year, DePaul University

jonathan.tran3301@gmail.com
Major(s): Health Sciences
Hometown: Toulouse, France
Program Mentor: Andrew Schram, MD

Adnan Vhora, 1st Year Fellow

Adnan Vhora, 1st Year Fellow

Third Year, University of Illinois at Chicago

avhora8@uic.edu
Major(s): Neuroscience
Hometown: Harvey, Illinois
Program Mentor: Shyam Prabhakaran, MD, MS

Syed Wahid, 1st Year Fellow

Syed Wahid, 1st Year Fellow

Second Year, University of Chicago

swahid@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Public Policy
Hometown: Bronx, New York
Program Mentor: Andrew Schram, MD

Tiffany Wanyoike, 1st Year Fellow

Tiffany Wanyoike, 1st Year Fellow

Fourth Year, Loyola University Chicago

twanyoike@luc.edu
Major(s): Biology
Minor(s): Physics
Hometown: North Andover, Massachusetts
Program Mentor: Micah Prochaska, MD

Amelia Wrigley, 2nd Year Fellow

Amelia Wrigley, 2nd Year Fellow

Third Year, University of Illinois at Chicago

ameliagwrigley@gmail.com
Major(s): Kinesiology
Hometown: Montpelier, Vermont
Program Mentor: Alexandra Tate, PhD

Jamie Zeng, 1st Year Fellow

Jamie Zeng, 1st Year Fellow

Third Year, University of Chicago

jzeng0@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Neuroscience
Hometown: New York, New York
Program Mentor: Alexandra Tate, PhD

 

 Collegiate Translational Medicine Program (CTMP) 

Visit program webpage here

Adelle Durrell

Adelle Durrell

Fourth Year, University of Chicago

amdurrell@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Psychology, Comparative Human Development
Minor(s): Chemistry
Hometown: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Program Mentor: David Beiser, MD

Riley Hamilton

Riley Hamilton

Second Year, University of Chicago

riley27@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Biological Sciences
Minor(s): Human Rights
Hometown: Fort Worth, Texas
Program Mentor: Peter O’Donnell, MD

Benjamin Hunt

Benjamin Hunt

Second Year, University of Chicago

benhunt@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Neuroscience
Hometown: San Francisco, California
Program Mentor: Arlene Chapman, MD

Opeoluwa Olusi

Opeoluwa Olusi

Third Year, University of Chicago

odolusi13@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Biological Sciences
Minor(s): Spanish
Hometown: White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Program Mentor: Peter O’Donnell, MD

Priya Rawal

Priya Rawal

Second Year, University of Chicago

priya02@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Biology & Global Studies
Hometown: River Forest, Illinois
Program Mentor: Elaine Worcester, MD

Sam Rydberg-Cox

Sam Rydberg-Cox

Second Year, University of Chicago

srydbergcox@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Neuroscience
Hometown: Kansas City, Missouri
Program Mentor: David Beiser, MD

Gabriel Schneider

Gabriel Schneider

Fourth Year, University of Chicago

schneiderg@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Biology
Minor(s): Chemistry
Hometown: Prague, Czech Republic
Program Mentor: Micah Prochaska, MD

Emily Smith

Emily Smith

Fourth Year, University of Chicago

emilyksmith@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Biology
Minor(s): Spanish
Hometown: Potomac, Maryland
Program Mentor: Peter O’Donnell, MD

Lexi Smith

Lexi Smith

Third Year, University of Chicago

lexi3558@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Biological Sciences and Biochemistry
Minor(s): Statistics
Hometown: Jacksonville, FL
Program Mentor: Arlene Chapman, MD

Benjamin Vaca

Benjamin Vaca

Third Year, University of Chicago

benjaminvaca@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Chemistry
Hometown: Miami, Florida
Program Mentor: Elaine Worcester, MD

Stevie Xie

Stevie Xie

Third Year, University of Chicago

zhiyuanxie@uchicago.edu
Major(s): Biology and Computer Science
Minor(s): English
Hometown: Chengdu, China
Program Mentor: Elaine Worcester, MD